Computer Systems

Spring Semester, 2017

CoSc 330: Syllabus
Instructor: Stan Warford
Office: RAC 112
Office hours: Monday (11:00-11:50), Tuesday (9:00-9:50), Thursday (1:00-1:50), Friday (11:00-11:50), and by appointment.
Email: Message to Warford

A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, A6, A7, Test 1
A8, A9, A10, A11, A12, A13, A14, Test 2
A15, A16, A17, A18, A19, A20, A21, A22, A23, A24, Final


Notices

Text

Computer Systems, Fifth edition, J. Stanley Warford, Jones and Bartlett, 2017.

Text rebate
As the author of our text, if you purchase it new I will personally refund on your request 15% of the retail price you paid.

Intellectual property

You are free to use the material I produce in this course without my explicit permission.
License: Creative Commons, Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA)

See: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/ for license details.

Video recording

The materials for this course – including video recordings of all the lectures, the assignments, and the lecture slides – are posted on iTunes U. On an iOS device (iPhone or iPad), this link takes you to the course in the iTunes U app.

You can also view just the lectures directly in your browser here.

The recordings may be used, reproduced, exhibited or distributed in any medium for any purpose that the University and those acting pursuant to its authority, deem appropriate. The University does hold a traditional copyright for the lecture video recordings.

Papers and links

Out of Bounds, Gerard J. Holzmann, IEEE Software, vol.32, no. 6, pp. 24-26, Nov.-Dec. 2015.
Here is an interesting wooden adding machine.
Here is a computer time line with links to computer history documents.

Downloads


Download Pep/9.
Download errata page for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition, first printing.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 1 for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 2 for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 3 for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 4 for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 5 for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 6 for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 7 for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download MapDemo NetBeans project for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download Problem 3.57 NetBeans project for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download Problem 3.61 NetBeans project for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download Problem 7.15 NetBeans project for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download Problem 7.18 NetBeans project for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download Problem 7.19 NetBeans project for Computer Systems, Fifth Edition.
Download reference pages for Pep/9.

Setups

Setup for C
The first assignment at the beginning of the course is in C. For this assignment, the procedures are the same as for programming in C++ in Data Structures last semester.

Setup for Java

Online Java documentation

Setup for NetBeans

Handing in Java assignments

Submit homework electronically

Assignments

Complete assignment list

Assignment 1
Due Thursday, January 12

Assignment 2
Due Thursday, January 19

Assignment 3
Due Monday, January 23

Assignment 4
Due Thursday, January 26

Assignment 5
Due Monday, January 30

Assignment 6
Due Thursday, February 2

Assignment 7
Due Monday, February 6

Test 1
Thursday, February 9
Chapters 1 through 5.2

Assignment 8
Due Monday, February 13

Assignment 9
Due Thursday, February 16

Assignment 10
Due Monday, February 20

Assignment 11
Due Thursday, February 23

Assignment 12
Due Monday, March 6

Assignment 13
Due Thursday, March 9

Notice
Monday, March 13 is the last day to withdraw with a grade of W.

Assignment 14
Due Monday, March 13

Test 2
Thursday, March 16
Chapters 5.3, 5.4, 7.1, 7.2, 7.3

Assignment 15
Due Monday, March 20

Assignment 16
Due Thursday, March 23

Assignment 17
Due Monday, March 27

Assignment 18
Due Thursday, March 30

Assignment 19
Due Monday, April 3

Assignment 20
Due Thursday, April 6

Assignment 21
Due Monday, April 10

Assignment 22
Due Thursday, April 13

Notice
Friday, April 14 is the last day to withdraw with a grade of WP/WF.

Assignment 23
Due Monday, April 17

Assignment 24
Due Thursday, April 20

Final
Wednesday, April 26, 1:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Cumulative, but with emphasis on Chapters 6 and 7.