Computer Systems

Spring Semester, 2014

CoSc 330: Syllabus
Instructor: Stan Warford
Office: RAC 112
Office hours: Monday (11:00-11:50), Tuesday (9:00-9:50), Thursday (1:00-1:50), Friday (11:00-11:50), and by appointment.
Email: Message to Warford

A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, A6, A7, Test 1
A8, A9, A10, A11, A12, A13, A14, Test 2
A15, A16, A17, A18, A19, A20, A21, A22, A23, A24, Final


Notices

Text

Computer Systems, Fourth edition, J. Stanley Warford, Jones and Bartlett, 2010.

Text rebate
As the author of our text, if you purchase it new I will personally refund on your request 15% of the retail price you paid.

Intellectual property

You are free to use the material I produce in this course for any purpose that you wish without my explicit permission. I would prefer that this University make its courses available as the Massachusetts Institute of Technology does in its MIT Open CourseWare (OCW) program under the Creative Commons License.

Video recording

The lectures for this course have been video recorded and are avialable on iTunes U here.

The above links take you to the course preview page with your web browser, from which you can click to view in the desktop iTunes application and subscribe to the course. All the course materials including assignments and lectures slides are best viewed on an iOS device (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch) with the free iTunes U app.

The recordings may be used, reproduced, exhibited or distributed in any medium for any purpose that the University and those acting pursuant to its authority, deem appropriate. The University does hold a traditional copyright for the lecture video recordings.

Historic computers

Here are some historic pictures of early computers.

http://ftp.arl.mil/ftp/historic-computers/

Downloads


Download Pep/8.
Download errata page for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition, first printing.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 1 for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 2 for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 3 for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 4 for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 5 for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 6 for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 7 for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download lecture slides, Chapter 7 Java version for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download Figure 7.25 NetBeans project for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download Figure 7.26 NetBeans project for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download Figure 7.31 NetBeans project for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download Figure 7.35 NetBeans project for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download MapDemo NetBeans project for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download Problem 3.57 NetBeans project for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download Problem 3.61 NetBeans project for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download Problem 7.16 NetBeans project for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download Problem 7.19 NetBeans project for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download Problem 7.20 NetBeans project for Computer Systems, Fourth Edition.
Download reference pages for Pep/8.
Download Java article "The Java Tree Withers," IEEE Computer, January, 2012.

Setups

Setup for C++
The first assignment at the beginning of the course is in C++. For this assignment, the procedures are the same as for programming in C++ in Data Structures last semester.

Setup for Java

Setup for NetBeans

Handing in Java assignments

Submit homework electronically

Assignments

Complete assignment list

Assignment 1
Due Thursday, January 9

Assignment 2
Due Monday, January 13

Assignment 3
Due Thursday, January 16

Assignment 4
Due Thursday, January 23

Assignment 5
Due Monday, January 27

Assignment 6
Due Thursday, January 30

Assignment 7
Due Monday, February 3

Test 1
Thursday, February 6
Chapters 1 through 5.2

Assignment 8
Due Monday, February 10

Assignment 9
Due Thursday, February 13

Assignment 10
Due Monday, February 17

Assignment 11
Due Thursday, February 20

Assignment 12
Due Monday, March 3

Assignment 13
Due Tuesday, March 4

Class does not meet Thursday, March 6
Professor's conference

Notice
Monday, March 10 is the last day to withdraw with a grade of W.

Assignment 14
Due Monday, March 10

Test 2
Thursday, March 13
Chapters 5.3, 5.4, 7.1, 7.2, 7.3

Assignment 15
Due Monday, March 17

Assignment 16
Due Thursday, March 20

Assignment 17
Due Monday, March 24

Assignment 18
Due Thursday, March 27

Assignment 19
Due Monday, March 31

Assignment 20
Due Thursday, April 3

Assignment 21
Due Monday, April 7

Assignment 22
Due Thursday, April 10

Notice
Friday, April 11 is the last day to withdraw with a grade of WP/WF.

Assignment 23
Due Monday, April 14

Assignment 24
Due Thursday, April 17

Final
Thursday, April 24, 10:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Cumulative, but with emphasis on Chapters 6 and 7.