Discrete Structures

Spring Semester, 2017

Math 221: Syllabus
Instructor: Stan Warford
Office: RAC 112
Office hours: Mon (11:00-11:50), Tues (9:00-9:50), Thurs (1:00-1:50), Fri (11:00-11:50), and by appointment
Email: Message to Warford

A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, A6, A7, A8, Test 1
A9, A10, A11, A12, A13, A14, A15, Test 2
A16, A17, A18, A19, A20, A21, A22, A23, Final

Notices

Text

A Logical Approach to Discrete Math, Gries and Schneider, Springer-Verlag, 1994.

Downloads

Download equation reference document.
Download TeX source of equation reference document.
Download Chapter 3 of Design Patterns for Data Structures.
Download Chapter 3 slides of Design Patterns for Data Structures.
Download C.A.R. Hoare retrospective and original paper on the Hoare triple.
Download article on how Amazon uses formal methods.

Intellectual property

You are free to use the material I produce in this course without my explicit permission.
License: Creative Commons, Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA)

See: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/ for license details.

Video recording

The materials for this course – including video recordings of all the lectures, the assignments, and the lecture slides – are posted on iTunes U. On an iOS device (iPhone or iPad), this link takes you to the course in the iTunes U app.

You can also view just the lectures directly in your browser here.

The recordings may be used, reproduced, exhibited or distributed in any medium for any purpose that the University and those acting pursuant to its authority, deem appropriate. The University does hold a traditional copyright for the lecture video recordings.

Assignments

Complete assignment list

Assignment 1
Due Thursday, January 12

Assignment 2
Due Thursday, January 19

Assignment 3
Due Monday, January 23

Assignment 4
Due Thursday, January 26

Assignment 5
Due Monday, January 30

Assignment 6
Due Thursday, February 2

Assignment 7
Due Monday, February 6

Assignment 8
Due Thursday, February 9

Test 1
Monday, February 13
Chapters 10, 12, Programs including (p.1) - (p.27)

Assignment 9
Due Thursday, February 16

Assignment 10
Due Monday, February 20

Proof of (14.22)

Assignment 11
Due Thursday, February 23

Visualizing relations

Assignment 12
Due Monday, March 6

Assignment 13
Due Thursday, March 9

Notice
Monday, March 13, last day to withdraw with grade of W.

Assignment 14
Due Monday, March 13

Assignment 15
Due Thursday, March 16

Test 2
Monday, March 20
Programs including (p.28) - (p.31), Chapter 14.1 - 14.3

Assignment 16
Due Thursday, March 23

Assignment 17
Due Monday, March 27

Assignment 18
Due Thursday, March 30

Assignment 19
Due Monday, April 3

Assignment 20
Due Thursday, April 6

Assignment 21
Due Monday, April 10

Assignment 22
Due Thursday, April 13

Notice
Friday, April 14, last day to petition to withdraw with grade of WP/WF.

Assignment 23
Due Monday, April 17

Final
Tuesday, April 25, 7:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.
Cumulative.
One half of the final will be from the material since Test 2, namely Chapter 14 from page 292, (14.51) - (14.54), Growth of functions, (g.1) - (g.12), 15.4 gcd, 16.1, 16.3, 19.1 - 19.5.