Formal Methods

Fall Semester, 2019

Math 220: Syllabus
Instructor: Stan Warford
Office: RAC 112
Office hours: Mon (11:00 - 11:50), Tues (9:00 - 9:50), Thurs (1:00 - 1:50), Fri (11:00 - 11:50), and by appointment
Email: Message to Warford

A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, A6, A7, Test 1
A8, A9, A10, A11, A12, A13, A14, A15, Test 2
A16, A17, A18, A19, A20, A21, A22, A23, Final

Notices

Text

A Logical Approach to Discrete Math, Gries and Schneider, Springer-Verlag, 1994.

Downloads

Download theorem reference document.
Download TeX source of theorem reference document.
Web page for theorem reference document.
Download article: Boolean Satisfiability, From Theoretical Hardness to Practical Success
Download article: How Amazon Web Services Uses Formal Methods

Intellectual property

You are free to use the material I produce in this course without my explicit permission.
License: Creative Commons, Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA)

See: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/ for license details.

Video recording

The materials for this course – including video recordings of all the lectures, the assignments, and the lecture slides – are posted on iTunes U. On an iOS device (iPhone or iPad), this link takes you to the course in the iTunes U app.

You can also view just the lectures directly in your browser here.

The recordings may be used, reproduced, exhibited or distributed in any medium for any purpose that the University and those acting pursuant to its authority, deem appropriate. The University does hold a traditional copyright for the lecture video recordings.

Assignments

Complete assignment list

Assignment 1
Due Thursday, August 29

Assignment 2
Due Thursday September 5

Assignment 3
Due Monday, September 9

English expressions handout

Assignment 4
Due Thursday, September 12

Assignment 5
Due Monday, September 16

Assignment 6
Due Thursday, September 19

Assignment 7
Due Monday, September 23

Test 1
Thursday, September 26
Chapters 1, 2, 3 except Leibniz's Rule as an Axiom

Assignment 8
Due Thursday, October 3

Assignment 9
Due Monday, October 7

Assignment 10
Due Thursday, October 10

Assignment 11
Due Monday, October 14

Assignment 12
Due Thursday, October 17

Notice
Monday, October 21, last day to withdraw with grade of W.

Assignment 13
Due Monday, October 21

(8.19) example worksheet
(8.22) proof worksheet

Assignment 14
Due Thursday, October 24

Assignment 15
Due Monday, October 28

Test 2
Thursday, October 31
Chapter 3, Leibniz's Rule as an Axiom
Chapters 4, 5, 8

Assignment 16
Due Thursday, November 7

Assignment 17
Due Monday, November 11

Assignment 18
Due Thursday, November 14

Assignment 19
Due Monday, November 18

Assignment 20
Due Thursday November 21

Assignment 21
Due Monday, November 25

Notice
Friday, November 29, last day to withdraw with grade of WP/WF.

Assignment 22
Due Monday, December 2

Final
Tuesday, December 10, 7:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.
Cumulative, emphasizing Chapters 9, 11